Sunday, August 10, 2008

2008 Hugo and Campbell Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2008 Hugo Awards and the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, announced last night at Denvention 3, the 66th World Science Fiction Convention.

And the winners are . . .

Novel: The Yiddish Policemen's Union, by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins; Fourth Estate)

Novella: "All Seated on the Ground," by Connie Willis (Asimov's, December 2007; Subterranean Press)

Novelette: "The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate," by Ted Chiang (F&SF, September 2007)

Short Story: "Tideline," by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov's, June 2007)

Related Book: Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction, by Jeff Prucher (Oxford University Press)

Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Stardust, by Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn, based on the novel by Neil Gaiman, dir. Matthew Vaughn (Paramount Pictures)

Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Who, "Blink," by Stephen Moffat, dir. Hettie Macdonald (BBC)

Editor, Short Form: Gordon Van Gelder

Editor, Long Form: David G. Hartwell

Professional Artist: Stephan Martiniere

Semiprozine: Locus, ed. Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, and Liza Groen Trombi

Fanzine: File 770, ed. Mike Glyer

Fan Writer: John Scalzi

Fan Artist: Brad Foster

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer: Mary Robinette Kowal


Anonymous said...

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer: Mary Robinette Kowal Oh that's so awesome! Mary's done a lot with and for Apex Publications. This just made my day! :)

tate hallaway said...

I'm really glad both Chaing and Bear won. I actually read both stories and loved them (particularly "Tideline!"

Bill Henry said...

Can someone explain how John Scalzi can be considered a fan writer?

(That's not meant to be an inflammatory question; I'm pleased that he won a Hugo. It's well deserved, and he narrowly missed out on winning one for best novel, as well. But I remain perplexed by the idea of "John Scalzi, fan writer.")